ACA brought to life the 2016 Canadian Ski Racing Awards this year to celebrate achievements of ACA athletes, exceptional coaching at all levels in Canada and volunteers that consistently go above and beyond for our sport. One male and one female athlete from each ACA team (alpine, para alpine and ski cross) was selected as ‘Athlete of the Year’. Larisa Yurkiw (Team Larisa) and Trevor Philp were selected as the Canadian Alpine Ski Team athletes of the year, Alana Ramsay and Mac and BJ Marcoux were the Canadian Para Alpine Ski Team winners and Marielle Thompson and Brady Leman were the Canada Ski Cross recipients. Along with national recognition, all six athletes received a coveted Alpina Watch to celebrate their success throughout the season.

Alpina Watches were also up for grabs for the winners of the men’s and ladies’ super G race, as well as for the winners of the coveted and exciting Team Event.

Canadian Cowboy and three-time Olympian, Manuel Osborne-Paradis, captured the men’s super G Canadian Champion title and Marie-Michèle Gagnon, who hit the World Cup podium twice this season, was the ladies’ super G champion. Both Osborne-Paradis and Gagnon walked away with some wrist-candy courtesy of Alpina Watches.

“It was awesome to win the Canadian Championship super G title and sweetening the deal with an Alpina Watch was even better,” said Osborne-Paradis. “They’re awesome timepieces and we are so grateful to have them on board for this event.”

In a Team Event race, in which each team was comprised of national team athletes (alpine and para alpine) and provincial athletes, the teams raced heat after heat in a dual slalom that finished at the base of the Whistler Mountain village. National team athletes Marie-Michèle Gagnon and Mac and BJ Marcoux, development team athlete, Brodie Seger and provincial team athletes, Heidi Roussin, Emma Woodhouse and Jeffrey Read, captured the top spot. All athletes on the team received an Alpina Watch.